USDA Forest Service honors employees

Press Release

GAINESVILLE, Ga. — The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service Regional Forester’s Honor Award Ceremony was held on November 3 to recognize groups and individuals who demonstrate outstanding commitment to excellence and teamwork for the greater good of U.S. forests. The theme for the Southern Region’s virtual awards ceremony was “Together We Rise.”

“I am proud that the outstanding work accomplished by employees on the Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests this year is being recognized,” said Forest Supervisor Edward Hunter. “Of course, we couldn’t do it without working side-by-side with partners, volunteers and others who support the work we do. I am heartened to see some of these important folks honored, as well.”

The Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests received four award(s) in the following categories:

  • Excelling as a High Performing Agency, an award to recognize individuals or an organization who has demonstrated exemplary public service realizing customer-focused results. Southern Region Budget Community – Cindy Brady and Jennifer Hennigan;
  • Kurt Rardin

    Applying Knowledge Globally, to recognize individuals, work units, partnerships, or groups who have demonstrated achievements in accomplishing work environment and safety improvements on our Nations forests and grasslands. Landscape Level Integration and Shared Stewardship (LLISS) team – Kurt Rardin;

  • Delivering Benefits to the Public, to recognize individuals, work units, partnerships, or groups who have demonstrated major achievements in supporting the goal outcome of “Social, economic, and environmental benefits flow from forest and grassland resources. Integrated Great American Outdoors Act Team – Hector Socias;
  • Regional Forester Special Awards, to recognize employees, partners, or volunteers who have demonstrated excellence in their unified commitment to public service, conservation or outreach while overcoming the special challenges that FY 2021 presented. Southern Region Law Enforcement & Investigations – All Units and staff, including: Jason Arrowood, Michael Tipton, Zachary Nichols, Kevin Hedden, Louis Jahrling, DeVonte Jones, Elisa Ratliff, Weldon Young and Jonathan S. Glenn.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top